

Visual Arts Citywide Exhibit

December 6-21, 2023 Springfield Art Association 700 North Fourth Street Springfield, Illinois

Sponsored by the Springfield Area Arts Council 420 South Sixth Street Springfield, Illinois 62701

Acknowledgements

Springfield Area Arts Council, sponsor of **ART AFTER HOURS**,

thanks:

Springfield Art Association

For providing an excellent exhibition gallery

Exhibit Set-up Team

For their time, energy, and sense of exhibit design

Judges

For their artistic expertise and volunteering

In-house Coordinators

For their extra time and effort in coordinating entries and hanging In-house Exhibits

Artists

For the talent of the 86 artists who submitted a total of 203 entries from 10 In-house Exhibits

Fifty-eight first-place works are part of the 2023 Citywide Exhibit.

* Indicates each winning artist

BUNN

Scott Lee, SVP Human Resources Desiree Logsdon, In-house Coordinator

J. R. Bye Susan Deweese Kenny Grinolds Victoria Hudspeth* Donna Oltmanns William Pryer Kelly Walker*





ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES

Theresa Eagleson, Director Terri Shawgo, Deputy Director of Human Services Susan Caimi, In-house Coordinator



Kathleen Arias Angela Aznarte* Missy Block* Johanna Brand Susan Caimi Ashley Ceperich Amanda Dace*





Theresa Eagleson* Carol Harris Ondra Hogan, Jr. Alicia Hopwood* Eden M. Peters* Cynthia Ryan-Tinch* Janene Scarver Dana Wilson



ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

John J. Kim, Acting Director Bridget Drea, In-house Coordinator

Fred Blanford* Suzanne Dale Judy Dobson Hannah Field Grace McCarten* Joshua Rhoades* Adena Rivas* Mariah Rowden Michelle Ryan* Mathew Urish* Sharon Waltrip Nicole Wilson Maureen Wozniak* Amy Zimmer*









SPRINGFIELD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT #186

Jennifer Gill, Superintendent of Schools Amy Minch, In-house Coordinator

Lessa Beenenga* Jessica Billek Chas Clinton Amy Minch Stephen Minch* Kelly Sholtis*





ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

David Harris, Director Abigail Rennolds, In-house Coordinator

Constance Baker John "Max" Brodt* Scott Claycomb Brandy Clotfelter Ashley Davis Shawn Fox* Helen Franklin Angela Kinner* Jill Krippel Bernie Lornitis Kaylee Winterbottom Daniel Melton Tricia Miller Jacob Montgomery Ron Pitchford* Katie Powell Abigail Rennolds* Katie Rowell Seth Shiftman* Kim Schwanke Megan Werner





ILLINOIS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. Tony Sanders, State Superintendent of Education Melissa Oller, Chief Operating Officer Molly Polly, In-house Coordinator

Kristina C. Clements Jera Josserand* Tim Murphy*



ILLINOIS STATE POLICE

Brendan F.Kelly, Director Trooper Robin Timm, In-house Coordinator

Yoko Abe-Bell* Millie Hreczany* Pamela Markusson* Dareea Paiva Vera Sims Michelle Smith* Robin Timm Kirsti Todd* Jason Vulgamott





THE WARDROBE

Sami Janes, owner and In-house Coordinator

Missy Broeker Shirley Bruner Barb Brand Drake* Chris Elzea* Lori Ferry* Teresa McElwee*





LINCOLN LAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Charlotte Warren, Ph.D., President Misty Schierer and Sarah Frey, In-house Coordinators

Michelle Burger* Esteban Cruz* Sarah Frey Tricia Kujawa Chris McDonald Brenda Protz Misty Schierer Jan Szoke* Greg Walbert* Diane M. Wilson*





YMCA

Leo P. Schmitz, Director Darrin Turner, Bureau Chief Jill Steiner, In-house Coordinator

Amanda LaMarca Judy McCullough*



ART AFTER HOURS Categories

Photography
Digital Art
Jewelry
Sculpture
Glass
Other





You're invited to Springfield Area Arts Council's 36th annual celebration of the arts!

This year, the family-friendly and fully-accessible occasion is co-produced with the Hoogland Center for the Arts as it marks the 20th anniversary of its opening.

This well-attended event takes place during the afternoon and evening of December 31st, and as usual, features paid local musicians, singers, dancers, and actors.

Springfield Area Arts Council

Executive Director

Sheila Walk

Bookkeeper

Sarah Burke

Website Manager

Emily Page

Board of Directors

Douglas Holt Melinda Pitt Kaye Steve Myers Steve Rambach Al Shull

Program Coordinators

Art After Hours Rod and Rosemary Buffington

Judges

Photographer and Artist Zach Adams

Educator and Artist Julie Brown

Educator and Artist Linda Post-Lucas **Art After Hours** is sponsored by the Springfield Area Arts Council. Its purpose is to help local businesses, agencies, educational and medical institutions identify and celebrate the artistic talents of people they employ.

In-house Exhibits in all locations were held in November 2023. A panel of local artists conducted the judging. All entrants were awarded ribbons for participation in the exhibit. First, Second, Third, and Honorable Mention were awarded in thirteen categories. First-place artwork qualified for the Citywide Exhibit.

The Citywide Exhibit entries were judged and awarded First, Second, Third, and Honorable Mention in each of the thirteen categories. In addition, the "Best of Show—Peg Lonson Award" is given to the overall outstanding art entry in the Citywide Exhibit. Peg Lonson was President of the Springfield Area Arts Council Board of Directors (1984-1986) and later Deputy Director of the Illinois Arts Council Agency. **On My Own Time** was one of the programs she developed in Springfield. In 2023 the program title was changed to **Art After Hours** to mark its 25th Anniversary.





ARTS

Art After Hours is supported in part by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.