First Night Springfield2018-12-05T03:36:23+00:00

2019 First Night® Springfield

This year’s First Night Springfield is the city’s 32nd annual New Year’s Eve Celebration of the arts, presented by the Springfield Area Arts Council on December 31, 2018.

First Night originated in Boston in 1976 as a family-friendly New Year’s Eve celebration. Springfield’s First Night was the first in Illinois and remains the longest running.

We will open First Night events on the afternoon of New Year’s Eve—Monday, December 31—with FREE children’s hands-on creative activities and entertainment in three areas from 1:00 to 4:00 PM at Springfield High School.

First Night also has a dedicated venue for teen bands at the Black Sheep Cafe Stage at Kari Bedford Photography, 314 East Monroe Street.  The Black Sheep Café has established itself as a popular spot for young people in Springfield, presenting innovative music by local bands.

The traditional First Night fireworks display will begin at 8:00 PM at Fourth Street and Capitol Avenue.  Sponsored by Horace Mann, the fireworks are designed by Nostalgia Pyrotechnics under the direction of Carl Steinmacher, and he produces a great display each year.  Following the fireworks, we will begin the next round of First Night performances at 8:30 PM.  We will wrap up the event at 11:15, so that attendees will have time to get home or to a favorite spot to ring in the New Year.

First Night admission wristbands  :  For adults, the cost is $18 when purchased before December 30th or $20 at the door.  Tickets are $5 for children ages 5 through 18.   Wristbands are available in-person at the Hoogland Center for the Arts box office or online.


List of Performers (alphabetic order)

Art Gallery
Buckhart Road
Casey Cantrall
Colin Helton
Mark Mills
Curt Smith
Tony Young

Bedford Studio
Black Sheep Café

Board Room
David Tell
Mike Anderson
Springfield Poets and Writers
Top Hat Tellers

Club Room
Pam Brown
Randy Irwin
Kevin Lucas
Ocean State

Dining Room
All-inclusive Stage and Gallery

Lincoln Home Visitor Center
Ben Bedford
Dandelion Pickers
Last Acre
Lowder and Manning
Levi Tucker
Ian Wick

Lincoln Public Library
Debbie Ross Band
Square of the Roots

LRS Theatre
JDS Dazzlers
Springfield Ballet Company
Springfield Dance Theatre
Springfield Theatre Center

Springfield High School
Mark Gifford
Randy Irwin
Rebecca Muzzarelli
Troy Roark

Theatre Three
Capital City Improv
Central Illinois Irish Dancers
Richard Landry
James Edward Snow

More info to come soon!

Skip to toolbar